Hipstamatic! (I never can get enough)*

I may be a little late to the party with this one, but am freakin’ loving the Hipstamatic iPhone app and thought I’d share (as something tells me a LOT of my future blog posts are going to be snapped on this baby). I won’t go all geek on you, but basically, it turns your iPhone into a dinky retro camera, complete with (virtual) slide-y bits, to turn the blah into dreamy/funky/downright vintage-tastic-looking pics. There are hundreds of different effects to be created by mixing and matching different lenses/films/flash heads and filters, providing quite literally hours of fun, along with prompting whiney requests from the boyf to ‘seriously, put it down now. How many photos of sofa cushions can you really need?’ Well the answer, I have to say, is lots, particularly when it makes my vintage furnishing fabrics look like I actually did snap them in 1975. Which was actually before I was born, so that really is mighty impressive. Behold my simple snaps, looking splendiferous through the Hipstamatic’s eyes…

Top and above: floral fabulousness in my vintage enamel jug and Ken Eardley vase

Some of my rather extensive collection of soft furnishings, including (among with mostly vintage fabrics) a couple of prized pieces from Michelle Mason (pouffe) and Snowden Flood (Battersea Power Station cushion cover)

And finally, just for fun, a few out-and-about snaps during our gloriously sunny London weekend – and as us Brit’s know, there ain’t too many of them. Some things never change…

{image credits: all me}

*for some reason, every time I think of the word Hipstamatic, in my head it is sung to the tune of 80’s Jackson-style croonsters Five Star’s hit single, System Addict. It’ll be stuck in your head now, too, I’ll wager. No? Just me then? Errr…

Tags:

About Joanna Thornhill

Freelance Interior Stylist, Author, Writer and Crafter working for a range of magazine titles and commercial clients. Author of Home for Now (CICO Books 2014)

One response to “Hipstamatic! (I never can get enough)*”

  1. Selina Lake says :

    WOW! love it .. i’m getting that app now X

Leave a Reply

