Food, Glorious Food (shoot)

I’d been hoping to post up pics of a still life styling shoot I recently styled for The Essential Kitchen, Bedroom, Bathroom magazine, but alas I’m still waiting for the original digital pics, so thought I’d post another little shoot I worked on recently in the interim (though if you’re browsing a fancy newsagents do check out p80!) This was a little test I worked on with a wonderful lady photographer named Lenaig Le Guen, who was most tolerant of my offbeat ideas and did an admirable job of lighting and editing our quirky food series. I was interested in looking into alternative ways to present ‘pretty’ foods and was also looking for an excuse to get my chops on some macaroons from Yauatcha, white strawberries (yes, white strawberries, aka pineberries – so posh you can only buy them in Waitrose for six weeks of the year – get me) and copious amounts of iced muffins. I thought I’d add in a few ‘behind the scenes’ shots for added drama, so grab some popcorn and saddle up.

Top pic and above: lining up my props and shot plans

Lighting-to-not-look-like-it’s-being-lit for my radish overhead shot

My pineberries-and-cream waiting for their close-up

Stacks of vintage crockery getting precariously high until…

Disaster! Luckily I had about 1,000 spare vintage saucers to hand and these little broken babies have been safely stored in my ‘someday’ craft project box to turn into some item of mosaic wonderment at some point in the future.

And finally, the lovely Lenaig editing away whilst I further faffed with props and refrained from munching them. Now for the finished results – hope you enjoy!

Tags: , , ,

About Joanna Thornhill/Stylist's Own

Freelance Interior Stylist, Author, Writer and Crafter working for a range of magazine titles and commercial clients. Author of Home for Now (CICO Books 2014)

5 responses to “Food, Glorious Food (shoot)”

  1. Di Overton says :

    You have been blogged today. Hope you like it!

  2. kathy dalwood says :

    I love the behind-the-scenes peek – I find it really interesting to see how people go about things. Yhat was really what I based my blog on and it’s great to see another blogger doing like-wise. I hope you’ll do lots more posts like this one!
    LOVE the pic of the coloured biscuits looming out of the dark.
    kathy

  3. Rebecca newport says :

    These look fab Jo! Loving the stacked up plates shot! X

  4. Anne-Marie Ezeard says :

    thanks for sharing a sliver of your life with us.. it’s interesting to see how people create these beautiful images we sometimes take for granted..

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. 10 Weird New Year Traditions All Over The World - December 31, 2010

Leave a Reply

