Refined Natural Bathroom – CP Hart Design Challenge

Textural Bathroom by Joanna Thornhill for EKBB Magazine

Followers of this ‘ere blog will know that I’ve been redecorating my bathroom for about the past ten months (the initial four-day quote turned out to be somewhat optimistic), and as discussed in my last post, I’m overjoyed to say it’s now approximately 97% complete (the final 3% involves silicon, grout and electricity, so needless to say it’s unlikely to reach totality anytime soon). And I can gladly say I am utterly in love with my little bathroom, and not just because anything’s better than the ‘dark days’ of washing my hair with a jug of tepid water for weeks on end whilst trying to dodge chunks of plaster gently trickling into the bath. So when CP Hart asked a bunch of interior stylists, designers and bloggers to design their dream bathroom space as part of a campaign, with their favourite design to be recreated in their 2014 brochure, I initially drew a blank. However, after having a squiz through their website and various bathroom design ideas, I decided to simply put my stylist hat on and approach the challenge as if I were creating a set for a photoshoot.

As my own bathroom contains traditional Victorian design elements, with a touch of Moroccan styling in the tiles, I decided to select a very contemporary suite as the basis for my fictional design, to try out a totally different direction to my own home – window-shopping vicariously, if you will. I was reminded of a shoot I styled (above) for Essential Kitchen, Bedroom, Bathroom magazine a few years back (coincidentally, in CP Hart’s Waterloo showroom) where I had softened the space with lots of natural, earthy accessories and textures, and liked the juxtaposition this gave the space. As I began noticing a slight theme in the sanitaryware and taps I was drawn to – gently curved pebble shapes for the former, waterfall for the latter – I decided my theme should be Refined Natural: less of a stark contrast than my original shoot, but still mixing these very modern bathroom pieces with delicately, rustic-tinged-yet-still-really-rather-classy tiles and accessories.

The Fittings - CP Hart Styling Challenge for Stylist's Own blog by Joanna Thornhill

1. Regent bevelled mirror, 2. Hayon Organico wall-mounted bathroom light, 3. Libero basin mixer, 4. Laufen Alessi One drop-in washbasin, 5. Giro back to wall WC, 6. Libero bath spout, 7. Gessi Collections Minimali shower head, 8. Coniston freestanding bath, all available via CP Hart.

With the basic fixtures decided (and frankly, who wouldn’t enjoy lying in an egg-shaped bath with water from an oversized rainfall tap washing over them?) it was time to choose the backdrop for this elegantly contoured sanctuary:

The Background - CP Hart Styling Challenge for Stylist's Own blog by Joanna Thornhill

1.  Stratum tiles in white, grey and anthracite, £5.99 per tile, Topps Tiles. 2. Woods window film, from £75 made to order, Nic Miller for Surface View. 3. Pizarra Black floor tiles 30x60cm, £6.49 per tile, Topps Tiles.

To provide contrast with the sinewy curves of the bathroom fittings, I wanted a textured tile, and the Stratum from Topps Tiles was just the ticket – I’d go with the white for the bulk of the space, adding in feature panels with the grey and anthracite to highlight other elements of the room, such as the inside of the giant walk-in shower area this fictional dream-room undoubtedly contains. Dark slate-effect tiles for the floor compliment the look perfectly without stealing the walls’ thunder, and for a touch of fun – and an alternative to blinds – a woods print window frosting film adds both pattern and privacy. And finally, onto those all-important finishing touches:

The Props - CP Hart Styling Challenge for Stylist's Own blog by Joanna Thornhill

1. Jacquard forest towels, from £5.99 each, Zara Home. 2. Tree trunk side table (great to pop towels and clothes on when changing), £125, French Connection Home. 3. English Romantic hooks, £15 each, Chocolate Creative. 4. Light gesso towel ladder, £55, Cox & Cox. 5. Gulping Guppy ring dish, £16, Anthropologie. 6. Zinc lined willow baskets, from £68, Rowen & Wren. 7. Bucket sauna (fab for storage), £16, French Connection Home.  8. Set of two grey gesso candlesticks, £50, Cox & Cox

With just a couple of heavy nods to greenery and nature, the bulk of this look is kept light with grey and pale finishes and simple craftsmanship. Plus an obligatory novelty fish jewellery holder for those who enjoy sniggering in the back. I for one am rather taken with it all (just don’t tell my current bathroom – he wouldn’t understand…)

I’ll be reporting back after the fancy unveiling party later this week, where I’ll get to see my fellow internet-buddies’ designs, but to see all these lovelies plus a few bonus extras all in one place, check out my Pinterest board on the subject.

{Image credits: top lifestyle shot photograph by Mike Daines, styling Joanna Thornhill. All product shots as per the companies’ credited}

Tags:

About Joanna Thornhill/Stylist's Own

Freelance Interior Stylist, Author, Writer and Crafter working for a range of magazine titles and commercial clients. Author of Home for Now (CICO Books 2014)

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Perfect Bathroom: What Floats Your Boat? | - July 14, 2013
  2. C.P. Hart Showroom Tour « NYLon Living - July 15, 2013

Leave a Reply

