Introducing… Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill!

Finally. I have been wanting to write this post for SO long, yet various dull reasons have prevented me. But here it is…

Front Cover Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill for Cico Books

I’ve only gone and done a book!!! It’s currently on a ship heading back from the printers in China – I like to think that it’s currently enjoying a mild climate off an exotic shore as it slowly ambles its way to Blighty. But it’s currently available to pre-order on Amazon UK and Amazon USA, and will be physically available in all fine bookshops throughout various corners of the globe from mid April! Nevertheless, I am going to share a few sneaky peeks of what to expect here with you, via the medium of the PDF.

Regular readers will know that I’ve been something of a serial renter throughout my adult life – living 12 landlord-owned abodes no less – and I have always enjoyed trying to make each of them feel as homely as possible, rental restrictions permitting. Then, when I finally scraped enough pennies together to buy my first home in May 2012, I excitedly envisaged gutting the place, converting the loft and doing an obligatory bi-fold kitchen doors glass box extension, before promptly realising that I had about, ooh, £45 to do the entire renovation and really, as it’s not my ‘forever’ home, was it really wise to invest such serious money in it? Even if I had it. Which I didn’t. Hmm…

P118-119 Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill for Cico Books

Increasingly, I found myself reverting to my ‘renter’s’ mindset when making decisions regarding refurbishing my home (which is still very much an ongoing work in progress) – could I track down a cheap, second-hand cupboard for that awkward gap next to the bath, rather than pay to get something built in? (answer: yes, after about 60 man-hours trawling eBay daily for six months, but for £30 I’ll take that on the chin.) How about if I created an artwork gallery wall on a giant pinboard, to save puncturing my newly-acquired walls with holes? Or decorated my furniture with bright colours and wallpaper, making it easier to update than if I applied the same design or tone directly to my walls? I quickly realised that many similarities were shared between us home-for-now’ers, whether renting or teetering delicately on that first rung of the property ladder. And I was also pretty certain that the media weren’t really offering us much help.

Hence, as they say, the lightbulb moment: what if there was a book that specifically focused on people like me (both in my previous renter incarnation and current grown-up-home-owner guise), which was full of styling, craft and DIY ideas, aimed at real people with real (ly small) budgets, who wanted to make the most of their temporary living spaces, whether simply renting a room for a few months or in a long-term yet not ‘forever’ home? And you could actually copy the ideas featured in it, regardless of your funds or circumstances? Maybe it could even feature the homes of canny renters and first-time-owners who had done just this themselves, to show it really can be done? Would anyone be interested in that?

P174-175 Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill for Cico Books

Well luckily, my ever-patient and supportive publishers, Cico Books (part of Ryland, Peters & Small) thought so, and commissioned me to style and write the book back in April last year. And I’ve been beavering away on it ever since, handing in my final copy shortly before Christmas (finally relieving the boyf of almost a year’s washing-up duty whilst I struggled to fit it all in between other work commitments). I’d been keeping it quiet to preserve the idea and thought it best to wait until there was something to show before posting about it, but now I think it’s safe to say the time has come. Above are two example layouts from the book, as well as the cover – and as an extra-juicy sneak peek, here are a few pics from the various blogs and social networks of the amazing, inspirational and generous homeowners whose lovely interiors feature throughout the book:

Contributor's Snapshots p1 as featured in Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill for Cico Books and blogged on Stylist's Own

1. The shared-ownership London flat of jewellery and homeware designer, Anna Alicia2. The rented London studio flat of textiles designer and interior stylist, Clare Nicolson3. The rented London flat of lifestyle blogger and interiors stylist, Carole Poirot of Mademoiselle Poirot

Contributor's Snapshots p2 as featured in Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill for Cico Books and blogged on Stylist's Own

4. The first-time-owned Brighton, UK flat of artist Dion Salvador Lloyd5. The first-time-owned home of Interiors blogger Maria Meder of Diagnoosi Sisustusmania (try saying that after a few bevvies – or in English, Diagnosis: Interior Design Mania) in Järvenpää, Finland; 6. The family-owned home in Tammisarri, Finland of of interiors stylist, writer and photographer Karin Lindroos

Contributor's Snapshots p3 as featured in Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill for Cico Books and blogged on Stylist's Own

7. The first-time-owned newbuild London flat of Tom Chalet8. The home of housewife and blogger Ninette Bahne at Tedags hos Tant Ninette (Teatime at Aunt Ninette’s), Pargas, Finland; 9. The rented flat of Hannah Ricci and Gavin Kettle, furniture makers and restorers at Ruby Rhino in Staffordshire, UK

Contributor's Snapshots p4 as featured in Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill for Cico Books and blogged on Stylist's Own

10. The Manchester, UK home of interiors blogger Kimberley Hughes of Swoon Worthy11. The rented London open-plan studio space of illustrators Holly Wales and Stephen Smith12. The first-time-owned ex-council London flat of costume designer Jane Petrie

Contributor's Snapshots p5 as featured in Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill for Cico Books and blogged on Stylist's Own

13. The Brighton, UK home of artist Phillipa Stanton (check out her insanely popular Instagram feed, via her alter-ego 5ftinf – 277,000 followers and counting!); 14. The rented London flat of Becky Nolan and Barney Read, aka vintage shop owners The Peanut Vendor15. The rented apartment of visual artist Saija Starr, Helsinki, Finland

I’m not 100% sure how it all works yet, but the book will be sold in its current English-language edition in the following countries, with foreign-language editions to follow in due course: Australia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Norway, South Korea, Slovakia, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, UK and the USA. This certainly isn’t the last you’ll be hearing from me on this subject (though I’ll try not to bore) but for now I’ll leave you to *ahem* go and get your credit cards and place an Amazon pre-order via the links at the top of this post.

(that was subtle right?!)

Pssst – for any journalists or bloggers reading who might be interested in featuring Home for Now on their platforms, please contact publicity@cicobooks.co.uk for further information

{Image credits} Book jacket design and layout pages copyright Joanna Thornhill/Cico Books. Images of each contributor’s homes, copyright the respective homeowners, excluding 1. and 4. which were taken by me, and 12. which was shot by Rachael Smith and styled by Emily Blunden (who kindly tipped me off about this amazing apartment) for The Guardian

Tags: , , , , ,

About Joanna Thornhill

Freelance Interior Stylist, Author, Writer and Crafter working for a range of magazine titles and commercial clients. Author of Home for Now (CICO Books 2014)

17 responses to “Introducing… Home for Now by Joanna Thornhill!”

  1. Ninette says :

    Oh, how exciting! Congratulations Jo – the book pages look wonderful! Thank you also for linking to all the bloggers that you visited – they go on my to read-list immediately! So happy for you, and it was so fun to have you and the photographers visiting us!

  2. Stacey Sheppard says :

    Amazing news Jo. I love the cover. I’ll definitely be checking out your book having recently bought a flat myself and having absolutely no budget to do it up. This book was such a great idea and will help so many people. Congratulations!!!

    • Stylist's Own (by Joanna Thornhill) says :

      Thanks Stacey – hoping it will offer lots of substance as well as style! It can feel a bit disheartening when you finally get your own place but realise you can’t afford to do exactly what you want to it (which I know first hand!) but the book is full of clever, budget-friendly ideas – still working my way through some of my favourites!

  3. secretgardenhome says :

    Hurray! congratulations Joanne! Can’t wait to read itx

  4. riitta sinikka says :

    ♥ Super! Congratulations! ♥ ♥

  5. Ellie Laycock says :

    This looks fantastic, Hannah. What a fabulous idea! Well done and big congratulations. xx

  6. myfriendshouse says :

    Well done Joanna! Looks great x

  7. Kimberly Hughes says :

    No idea how I missed this post but WHOOP! I’m so very excited and proud to be a little part of this – the book looks amazing and can’t wait to have my own little hands on it 🙂 xxx

  8. Bagno Design says :

    Congratulations on the book, looking forward to reading it!

  9. Stylist's Own (by Joanna Thornhill) says :

    Woo thanks Ninette, I’m really hoping it will be sold in Finland too eventually, they just release the English-language versions first. I shall get a copy sent to you as soon as they land!x

Leave a Reply

