Merry Christmas 2014: My Festive Home

My living room for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

And we’re nearly there! One of the perils/benefits of being self-employed is you get to, to an extent, choose your own hours, but sadly for me I still seem to have deadlines coming out of my ears and am only just unshackling from my desk now for a few days. So there won’t be a sprawling two-week break for me, and the Office Party is going to mainly consist of me opening a glass of Rioja and polishing off a Shepherd’s Pie at teatime. Still, all of these things are made all the more lovely by having all my favourite Christmas decs set up around me (and with a roaring fire on, of course!) I love that I get to Christmas-decorate vicariously when I work on festive shoots earlier in the year and it’s always fun honing down a theme, but when it comes to my own home, personally I love nothing more than putting tasteful co-ordinating colour schemes  aside, and simply showering the house with all my favourite festive trinkets. Classy it may not be, but so many of my little treasures hold special memories for me – especially the baubles from my own childhood Christmas Past – and as I (inevitably) add new ones to the mix each year, it’s always a real pleasure to get them hung up (however many shoot-trees I may have decorated a few months back!)

Toast bauble for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

Star decoration by Toast for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

So up top is a snapshot of my festive living room (‘scuse the dodgy lighting), complete with our little wonky potted tree, which we’ve managed to keep alive in the garden for a WHOLE YEAR (cue proud face), and these are a few of my new additions for 2014. The cute little wooden bells and delicate ceramic star above are both from Toast, won in a competition a few months back (I *might* have been so excited about it all that these have actually been out on display since October)

Kiln Arts glass snowflake  for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

Eileen Kai Hing Kwan decoration for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

I always like to support the local designers in my adopted-hometown of Walthamstow through, um, shopping for pretty things for myself, so at a recent E17 Designer’s Christmas fair I couldn’t resist topping up my stocks with this pretty glass snowflake from Steve of Kiln Arts, plus this fab screenprinted ‘bauble’ from illustrator Eileen Kai Hing Kwan (do check out her drawings – they’re amazing!)

REfound Objects mini bottle for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

And also, a big thank-you to one of my favourite websites, REfound Objects, for Christmas-gifting me this gorgeous teeny-tiny bottle! I’ve popped in a couple of equally tiny dried poppy heads from the garden in it. Pretty safe to say this WON’T be relocated to the loft on Jan 5th.

Toast crackers for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

As our tree lives in a pot in the garden for 11 1/2 months of the year, I strategically planted it in a plastic one rather than terracotta, for ease of dragging it through the house, so it’s not the prettiest of bases. Next year I’m hoping to make a proper tree skirt for it, but in haste for 2014 I’ve just wrapped the base in some giftwrap samples I had from Caroline Gardner. These beautiful crackers, also from my Toast win, are too lovely to pop so are surrounding its little bottom, instead.

Twig decor for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

Candle corner for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

As my tree is a little on the teeny side, I usually pick up some twigs in the run-up to Christmas, to display in vases and hang my mini-baubles off – these were procured from Epping Forest. And general festive trinkets gradually clutter up the sides, too, like this amazing pate tin I picked up in Finland last year when I was shooting my book (in August!), repurposed into a festive tealight holder.

Joy by Johnny Egg for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

I’ve also got several fab Christmas display pieces by flocking master Johnny Egg – I love the way their colours pop against my dark walls.

Lime Lace snowglobe for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

I’ve always had a thing about festive snowglobes, so this little cutie from gorgeous, eclectic interiors website Lime Lace is now pride of place on my mantle.

Sasha Tugolukova plate for Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

And finally, it’s not really Christmas decor, but I wanted to give a shout-out to my stunning plate from Sasha Tugolukova. I had planned to actually use it as a plate, but as soon as I saw it I decided it was waaaay too gorgeous for that, so I think it’s going to live here on the mantlepiece indefinitely now. Part of her Mask collection, its intricate design is comprised of pencil illustrations brought together to form this complex, multi-faceted design. I can’t stop staring at it.

Fireplace at Christmas 2014 - Joanna Thornhill for Stylist's Own Blog

So there we have it. I think it’s finally time for me to stick the Out of Office on and get on with it all, but first, a big thanks to everyone who’s read my ramblings this year and supported my debut book, Home for Now. I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and I’ll see you in 2015!

Joanna Thornhill Christmas Card 2014 with text

{Images: all Joanna Thornhill. Possibly a bit late for this year, but if you like my DIY festive cones in the picture above, the instructions on how to make them, which I wrote for Wayfair’s blog, are here}

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Joanna Thornhill/Stylist's Own

Freelance Interior Stylist, Author, Writer and Crafter working for a range of magazine titles and commercial clients. Author of Home for Now (CICO Books 2014)

One response to “Merry Christmas 2014: My Festive Home”

Leave a Reply

